Make DriveSafeTampa.org Your Home for Online Traffic Safety Courses
Our online traffic courses are available 24 hours a day. Take the course when you have the time. You can pause the course and go back whenever it's convenient. It's Your Schedule!
Currently, Florida Statute 322.095 requires first time driver license applicants to complete an approved Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course, or complete a Department of Education approved driver education course, before issuance of a driver license by the Division of Driver Licenses.
The Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) Course is a state approved, four-hour course which teaches defensive driving techniques, behaviors, and attitudes to individuals who have received a traffic ticket or who voluntarily take the course to improve their defensive driving knowledge and skills.
If the court or a judge has ordered you to take an eight hour traffic class, then the Florida 8 Hour Judge Ordered course is for you!
If the court or a judge has ordered you to take a twelve hour traffic class, then take this Advance course for your state reporting needs!
If you have a Florida Driver's License and are 55 years of age or older, you are now eligible to complete a 6 hour motor vehicle accident prevention course that will allow you to receive a mandatory reduction on your insurance rate for three years. (Florida Statute 627.0652).
The TCAC teaches defensive driving techniques, behaviors and attitudes to individuals responsible for causing traffic crashes involving property damage and/or injuries.